You are here: Home > Concerts > 17 Mar 18You are not logged in.
Oaklands Catholic School,
Waterlooville (Click here for directions)


 Next   Previous 
Saturday 17th March 2018  7.30pm
Conductors:  Jonathan Butcher and Richard Miller*

Arrive early to enjoy …
6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk in the main hall by Richard Miller

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2 – Liszt

Violin Concerto in A minor – Dvořák
Soloist: Benjamin Baker

*The Walk to the Paradise Garden – Delius arr. Beecham

Pictures at an Exhibition – Mussorgsky arr. Ravel

Download flyer
Oaklands School Hall
Oaklands School Hall

You have almost certainly heard the first piece in this concert, the Hungarian Rhapsody no 2 by Liszt, as the background music to cartoons such as Tom and Jerry!  It was originally written for solo piano but a couple of orchestrations were made and it never fails to delight with its slow dramatic opening and wild ‘friska’ section!

Eastern European dance rhythms are also in evidence in the Violin Concerto by Dvořák.  Our original soloist Alexander Sitkovetsky is unfortunately unavailable, but we are very pleased to welcome back Benjamin Baker who previously performed with HSO in 2009 and has kindly made himself available again at very short notice! 

The second half of our concert takes us on a little stroll!  First to the ‘Paradise Garden’ with Delius (this piece coming originally from his opera ‘A Village Romeo and Juliet’) and then around an art Exhibition with Mussorgsky!  The Russian composer’s huge work – like the Liszt, originally written for solo piano – is a depiction of an exhibition of paintings and drawings by a friend of Mussorgsky’s, Viktor Hartmann.  The music for each of the ten pictures is joined together by recurring ‘promenade’ music as the viewer walks from one picture to the next.

Benjamin Baker 

Website kindly hosted by