You are here: Home > Concerts > 7 Jul 18You are not logged in.
Oaklands Catholic School,
Waterlooville (Click here for directions)


 List   Previous 
Saturday 7th July 2018  7.30pm
Conductors:  Jonathan Butcher and Richard Miller*

Arrive early to enjoy …
6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk in the main hall

*Overture Prince Igor – Borodin

Cello Concerto – Finzi
Soloist: Raphael Wallfisch

Symphony No. 4 in F minor – Tchaikovsky

Download flyer
Oaklands School Hall
Oaklands School Hall

Our season of concerts at Oaklands comes to a dramatic close with three works inspired by fictional or personal battles.

Borodin based his opera ‘Prince Igor’ on an ancient Russian epic tale which tells of the war of Igor against the Polovtsian tribes in 1185.  The music is dramatic, intense and full of great energy.

The English composer, Gerald Finzi, wrote his Cello Concerto shortly after being diagnosed with a life-shortening illness and the first movement contains more than a hint of his internal struggle with this.  He also gives us a more serene portrait of his wife in the second movement.

Fate was a recurring theme for Tchaikovsky who struggled all his life with emotional turmoil and uncertainty.  With the Symphony No 4 he began to pour out his melodies in a more autobiographical way and this music is full of emotion and potential for impending doom or triumph!

Raphael Wallfisch  (click for larger photo) 

Website kindly hosted by