You are here: Home > Concerts > 19 Mar 16You are not logged in.
Oaklands Catholic School,
Waterlooville (Click here for directions)


 Next   Previous 
Saturday 19th March 2016  7.30
Conductors:  Jonathan Butcher and Joseph Beckhelling*

Overture Manfred Schumann

Valse Triste, Op 44 – Sibelius

*Violin Concerto No 3 in B minor – Saint-Saëns
Soloist: Joo Yeon Sir**

Symphony No 7 in D minor – Dvořák

** Kindly supported by Making Music’s Philip & Dorothy Green Award for Young Concert Artists scheme. 

Download flyer

Havant Symphony Orchestra’s second concert of the season at Oaklands features four composers, all from the Romantic period of classical music, but each from a different country and each with such a very individual voice!

Schumann, famous for his dark moods and for throwing himself in the Rhine, is at his most dramatic in his Manfred Overture.  This was written as incidental music to the poem of the same name by Byron and is full of turbulence and passion.

Also originally part of a set of music for a drama, Sibelius’ Valse Triste is a beautiful, but spooky, evocation of a slightly sinister dance.  The title literally means ‘Sad Waltz’ and the music was written for a play entitled ‘Death’ written by Sibelius’ brother-in-law.

Travelling next to France, and in rather jollier mood, HSO will play the Violin Concerto No. 3 by Saint-Saëns.  This was written for the Spanish virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate and, though less showy than the composer’s first two concertos, it is full of beauty and impressionistic subtlety.  Our soloist, Joo Yeon Sir, is supported by Making Music’s Philip and Dorothy Green Award for Young Concert Artists.  This scheme helps talented artists to get exposure and also helps music societies to afford those artists, thereby helping classical music fans to hear outstanding musicians in their local area!  Joo Yeon recently premiered a work by Karl Jenkins and is also a talented composer herself.

Dvořák is probably most famous for his New World Symphony, but his earlier symphonies are equally enjoyable and some consider the Seventh to be his greatest.  It was written at the invitation of the Philharmonic Society of London and premiered at St James’ Hall in London in 1885 with the composer conducting.  At the time Dvořák was heavily influenced by Brahms but he still allows a Czech flavour to infuse his own music especially in the lively Scherzo and lilting melody in the last movement of this Symphony.

Joo Yeon Sir

Website kindly hosted by