You are here: Home > Concerts > 6 Feb 16You are not logged in.
Saturday 6th February 2016  7.30
Conductor:  Robin Browning

Overture The Marriage of Figaro Mozart

Triple Concerto in C major – Beethoven
Soloists: The Albany Piano Trio

Suite Pelléas et Mélisande Sibelius

Symphony No 1 in D major, Classical Prokofiev

Download flyer

Havant Chamber Orchestra open this concert at Ferneham Hall with the ever-popular Overture to The Marriage of Figaro by Mozart.  We then bring you three soloists for the price of one in the shape of the Albany Piano Trio!  Pippa, Gemma and Verity join us to play the fabulous Triple Concerto by Beethoven – a concerto for piano, violin and cello with orchestra.  Written in 1803, less than 20 years after The Marriage of Figaro, this is probably the only well-known work for this combination of instruments.  You may have seen it on television during the 2015 Proms played by the amazing West-Eastern Divan Orchestra under Daniel Barenboim.

For the second half of the concert HCO, under their Musical Director Robin Browning, will leap forward to the early 20th Century for some Sibelius and Prokofiev.

Sibelius wrote incidental music for the play Pelléas et Mélisande in 1905 and later produced a concert Suite from it.  There are nine short movements, of which the first At the Castle Gate has become synonymous with the long running television series The Sky at Night.

Prokofiev called his first symphony the Classical Symphony because when writing it he wanted to emulate the style of the great classical composer Haydn.  Of course the work is not a copy of Haydn and Prokofiev did not quote from Haydn at all – he uses classical structures but with a modern twist.  It is light and joyful and, for a symphony, very short!

The Albany Piano Trio

Website kindly hosted by