You are here: Home > Concerts > 2 Apr 22You are not logged in.
Oaklands Catholic School,
Waterlooville (Click here for directions)


 Next   Previous 
Saturday 2nd April 2022  7.30pm
Conductor:  Jonathan Butcher
Covid-19 precautions may no longer be legally required, but for safety and comfort we still plan to continue precautions including limited audience numbers and no pre-concert talk.  See the news page for the latest information. 

The Land of the Mountain and the Flood – MacCunn

Capriol Suite – Warlock

Piano Concerto No. 3 – Prokofiev
Soloist: Christos Fountos

Symphony No. 2 in D – Brahms

Download flyer
Oaklands School Hall
Oaklands School Hall

Great classics for all

A pick and mix classical variety-fest awaits you at this concert by Havant Symphony Orchestra!  Major serious composers? tick; Live virtuoso pianist? tick; Great hummable tunes? tick!  To quote a first-time audience member at one of our previous concerts “This is proper!”

The major composers are Prokofiev and Brahms, but we also introduce you to Peter Warlock with his “Capriol Suite”, based on renaissance dances, and to Hamish MacCunn whose “Land of the Mountain and the Flood” is a delightful evocation of his native Scotland.

The virtuoso pianist is Christos Fountos – born in Cyprus but a student of the Trinity Laban Conservatoire in London.  His performance of the Concerto No. 3 by Prokofiev will be spectacular!

Hummable tunes?  These will feature throughout but especially in the MacCunn and Warlock, and Brahms’ Symphony No. 2 will leave you with a warm glow to take home at the end.

Christos Fountos  (click here for larger photo) 

Website kindly hosted by