You are here: Home > Concerts > 21 May 22You are not logged in.
Saturday 21st May 2022  7.30pm
Conductor:  Robin Browning
All Havant Orchestras activities remain suspended because of the risks associated with the rapid spread of the Covid-19 delta variant.  This concert will only go ahead if the risk is reduced to a level acceptable to the committee in time to allow sufficient preparation, in which case this page will be updated accordingly.  See the news item for more information. 

Arrive early to enjoy …
6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk

Overture “Egmont” – Beethoven

Violin Concerto in D major – Brahms
Soloist: Charlotte Saluste-Bridoux

Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, “Scottish” – Mendelssohn

Download flyer

German Giants

For a summer’s evening Havant Chamber Orchestra present major classics by giants of the classical world Beethoven, Brahms and Mendelssohn.

One of the most popular violin concertos is that by Johannes Brahms and we’re delighted to welcome violinist Charlotte Saluste-Bridoux to play this with us.  French-born Charlotte has been a student of the Yehudi Menuhin School and the Royal College of Music and is definitely a rising young star!

Beginning the concert will be the dramatic Overture “Egmont” by Beethoven and to conclude we perform the evocative, joyful and melodious “Scottish” Symphony by Mendelssohn.  Both composers were inspired by landscapes and by Scotland and Mendelssohn was particularly good at portraying the romantic European sensitivity for the bleak but enticing atmosphere of the Highlands.  A lively fling to end our season of concerts in Fareham!

Charlotte Saluste-Bridoux  Photo by Chris & Dumbrill
(click for full photo)

Website kindly hosted by