You are here: Home > Concerts > 15 Oct 16You are not logged in.
Saturday 15th October 2016  7.30pm
Conductor:  Robin Browning

6.30pm: Pre-concert talk in the auditorium by Richard Moore about the Strauss Wind Serenade 

Serenade in E flat major, Op. 7 – Richard Strauss

Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor – Bruch
Soloist: Savitri Grier

Symphony No. 7 in A major – Beethoven

Download flyer

We loved working with Savitri Grier so much in May 2015 that we invited her back to play the ever-popular Violin Concerto No. 1 by Bruch.  At number 5 in Classic FM’s ‘Ultimate Hall of Fame’ this piece is up there with the very best!

Beautiful melodies are abundant in this concert which opens with just the wind players of the Havant Chamber Orchestra performing the Serenade for 13 Wind Instruments by Richard Strauss.  Strauss’s father was a horn player and Richard showed a particular affinity for wind instruments, writing two concertos for horn, one for oboe and several other pieces for groups of wind instruments – this first one at the age of just 17.

The concert concludes with the joyful Symphony No. 7 by Beethoven.  This was such a huge hit at its premiere in 1813 that the second movement had to be encored immediately and the whole concert was repeated!

Savitri Grier  Photo by Kaupo Kikkas 

Website kindly hosted by