You are here: Home > Concerts > 11 Jul 20You are not logged in.
Oaklands Catholic School,
Waterlooville (Click here for directions)


 List   Previous 
Saturday 11th July 2020  7.30pm
Conductors:  Jonathan Butcher and Avi Taler*

Arrive early to enjoy …
6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk in the main hall

L’Arlésienne Suite No. 1 – Bizet

Cello Concerto in A minor – Saint-Saëns
Soloist: Student from Yehudi Menuhin School

*Vltava – Smetana

The Firebird ballet suite – Stravinsky

Oaklands School Hall
Oaklands School Hall
A young future star performer will join us for the dramatic cello concerto by French composer Camille Saint-Saëns.  HSO complete the season with Stravinsky’s spectacular “Firebird”.

Stories from around the world feature in this last concert of the season by HSO.  Bizet’s “L’Arlésienne” Suite No. 1 was written for a play “The Girl from Arles” (the famous French town where Van Gogh lived).  Smetana beautifully portrays the scenery in his beloved Czech Republic in “Vltava” – the most popular section of his large work “Ma Vlast” (My Homeland).

We are very excited to be able to bring you a young soloist from the Yehudi Menuhin School in Surrey to play the romantic Cello Concerto by Saint-Saëns.  At time of writing we don’t know the identity of the performer but they are sure to be a name to watch for the future so don’t miss it! 

Completing the programme will be Stravinsky’s incredible Suite “The Firebird”.  A challenge for any orchestra, this will be a superb finale to our season.

Website kindly hosted by