You are here: Home > Concerts > 19 Oct 19You are not logged in.
Saturday 19th October 2018  7.30pm
Conductor:  Robin Browning

Arrive early to enjoy …
6.30pm–7.00pm: Pre-concert talk

Charterhouse Suite – Vaughan Williams

Adagio – Barber

Oboe Concerto Op. 9 No. 2 – Albinoni
Soloist: Lucinda Willits

Souvenir de Florence – Tchaikovsky

Download flyer
Barber’s famous Adagio for strings and a delicious oboe concerto by Venetian master Tomaso Albinoni.

HCO presents a programme of beautiful music for strings with the added bonus of a gorgeous Oboe Concerto by Albinoni, performed by HCO’s own principal oboe, Lucinda Willits. 

The strings will play music by a wide variety of composers including the famous Adagio by Samuel Barber and ending with Tchaikovsky’s postcard from Italy, the “Souvenir de Florence”.  Tchaikovsky sketched the main theme of the work whilst on a visit to Florence, originally scoring it for just six players.  It was subsequently arranged for a full string orchestra. 

Opening the programme will be an evocation of English countryside and folk music, the “Charterhouse Suite” by Vaughan Williams.

Lucinda Willits 

Website kindly hosted by