You are here: Home > Concerts > 21 Sep 19You are not logged in.
Hayling Island Community Centre,
Hayling Park, Station Road, Hayling Island P011 0HB


 Next   List 
Saturday 21st September 2019  7.30pm
Conductor:  Stefano Boccacci

Tone poem “Finlandia”, Op. 26 – Sibelius

Andante and Hungarian Rondo for Viola and Orchestra, J. 79 – Weber
Romance for Viola and Orchestra, Op. 85 – Bruch
Soloist: Nia Thomas

Symphony No. 4 – Schumann

Traditional pre-season ‘Popular Classics’

Download flyer

Our season opener this year features the viola as the solo instrument!  The gorgeous warm tones of the viola are brought to the fore in two contrasting pieces – the lively “Andante and Hungarian Rondo” by Weber and the heart-on-sleeve “Romance” by Bruch.  Our soloist, Nia Thomas, is a talented student from the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama. 

Havant Symphony Orchestra open the concert with the proud Finnish anthem “Finlandia” by Sibelius, with its stirring brass and lush melodies.  Concluding the concert will be the Symphony No. 4 by archetypal romantic composer Robert Schumann, published in its final version just 5 years before his tragic death. 

Our September concert is traditionally conducted by the outgoing holder of our Bob Harding Bursary for Student Conductors, so doing the honours this year will be Stefano Boccacci.  Stefano is definitely one to watch for the future – see him live here first!

Nia Thomas  (click for larger photo) 

Website kindly hosted by