You are here: Home > Concerts > 21 Sep 13You are not logged in.
Hayling Island Community Centre,
Hayling Park, Station Road, Hayling Island


 Next   List 
Saturday 21st September 2013  7.30
Guest conductor:  Colin Jagger

Overture to Orpheus in the Underworld Offenbach / Carl Binder

Piano Concerto in A minor – Grieg
Soloist: Valentina Seferinova

Symphony No 5 in C minor – Beethoven

Traditional pre-season ‘Popular Classics’ with guest conductor Colin Jagger, Director of Music at the University of Portsmouth.


See the Tickets for 2013/14 Season page for ticket prices and booking details.

The concert begins with the brilliant overture to Orpheus in the Underworld, composed by Jacques Offenbach and arranged for the German premiere by Carl Binder.  It is a potpourri of some of the best tunes from the operetta, ending with the enduringly popular can-can which so titillated the Parisian audiences in 1858. 

Next up is the radiant piano concerto by Grieg which he composed in 1868 but revised many times, and indeed the final version which we are performing dates from just before he died in 1907. 

The final work in the programme is perhaps the most famous piece of all time, Beethoven’s 5th Symphony.  Begun in 1807 and completed the following year, at a time when he was already profoundly deaf, this is one of the finest works of Beethoven’s middle period.  The opening motif has been described fittingly as ‘fate knocking at the door’, and the short-short-short-long rhythm reappears in various guises throughout the symphony.  The progress from the angry C minor of the opening movement through to the C major blaze of glory in the finale makes for a most exciting conclusion to our concert.

Valentina Seferinova

Website kindly hosted by