You are here: Home > Concerts > 19 Oct 13You are not logged in.
Saturday 19th October 2013  7.30
Conductor:  Robin Browning

6.30pm: Pre-concert talk by Piers Burton-PageA History of the Piano Concerto – in 29½ minutes!

Overture The Hebrides Mendelssohn

Piano Concerto No 5 in D, K175 – Mozart
Soloist: Philip Martin

Introduction and Allegro Appassionato, Op 92 – Schumann
Soloist: Philip Martin

Symphony No 35 in D, Haffner, K385 – Mozart


We are pleased to welcome Robin Browning as guest conductor of Havant Chamber Orchestra for the 2013 – 2014 season.

The first concert of the new season opens with Mendelssohn’s familiar ‘Hebrides’ overture, inspired by his visit to Fingal’s Cave, conveying a romantic portrayal of the bleak landscape and the rolling sea.

The repertoire for piano and orchestra includes a few gems which are frequently overlooked simply because they are too short to fill the usual concert programme spot occupied by a major concerto.  Our old friend Philip Martin has solved this problem for us by providing with two contrasting instances of such works in the same concert. 

Mozart’s Piano Concerto No 5 was written when he was 17.  It is considered to be his first fully original piano concerto (in that his previous keyboard concertos were based on works by other composers) and always remained one of his favourites.

Schumann’s Introduction and Allegro Appassionato returns to the romantic style, exploring its way through a wide range of moods from dreamy wandering to a triumphant march.

Mozart wrote a serenade for the Haffner family, now known as the Haffner Serenade K250, and was asked to write a second such serenade, but after doing so he decided to rework it slightly and it became his popular Haffner Symphony.

Philip Martin © Photography by Julia Martin

Website kindly hosted by