You are here: Home > Concerts > 16 May 09You are not logged in.
Ferneham Hall,


 Next   Previous 
Saturday 16th May 2009  7.30
Guest Conductor:  Jason Lai

Overture Egmont – Beethoven

Pastoral Suite – Lars-Erik Larsson

Violin Concerto No 1 in G minor – Bruch
Soloist: Alexander Sitkovetsky

Arietta for Strings – Norman dello Joio

Romance in C major for Strings, Op 42* Sibelius

* Update 22nd March:  The parts for the Arietta are currently unavailable, so the Sibelius Romance has been inserted as a replacement.

Symphony No 4 in Bb Gade

The stunning Egmont and Bruch’s concerto are well-known (Sitkovetsky’s masterly technique will shine) – but the others provide opportunities to find new favourites: the Pastoral Suite dates from 1938, and the Arietta from 1978.  Back to the 19th century for Gade – a composer influenced by Mendelssohn and Schumann.

The pre-concert talk 6.30 - Gade’s 4th Symphony

Alexander Sitkovetsky

Website kindly hosted by