You are here: Home > About > Reference > Bursary holdersYou are not logged in.

Bob Harding Bursary Holders

The Bob Harding Bursary for Young Conductors provides an opportunity each year for a young conductor to assist in and observe rehearsals and concerts of the Havant Symphony Orchestra throughout a season.  Specific music colleges providing an advanced conducting course are each invited to nominate one candidate, and selection is by audition in July.

Here is a complete list of the recipients to date of the bursary, from the most recent back to the first in 1987, together with some information (found via web searches) on their subsequent careers.  Where there appears to be a reasonably up to date web site (as of July 2010), such as a personal home page or a biography page at an employer or agency, a link is provided to the site, otherwise notes have been added mentioning organizations or activities with which the conductor’s name has been associated.

External links will open in a separate browser tab or window.

Year Name Nominated by Links and notes
2017-2018 Richard Miller Royal College of Music http://richardmillermusic.co.uk/
2016-2017 Tom Griffin Royal Marines School of Music Bandmaster, HMS Heron Royal Navy Volunteer Band
2015-2016 Joseph Beckhelling University of Southampton Biography from 2015
2014-2015 Ignatius Wang Royal Marines School of Music Director of Music, Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Ceremonial Band BBiography from 2014
2012-2014 (not awarded)   Bursary scheme temporarily suspended while HSO used guest conductors, preparing to select a new principal conductor following the retirement of founder Peter Craddock
2011-2012 Robert Hodge Royal College of Music http://www.robert-hodge.com/
2010-2011 (not awarded)   Samuel Draper continued for a second year as bursary holder
2009-2010 Samuel Draper Royal College of Music http://www.samueldraper.com/
2008-2009 Jessica Cottis Royal Academy of Music http://www.jessicacottis.com/
2007-2008 Christian Ludwig Royal Academy of Music http://christianludwig.com/
2006-2007 Andrew Gourlay Royal College of Music http://www.andrewgourlay.com/
2005-2006 Daniel Cohen Royal Academy of Music http://www.danielcohenconductor.com/
2004-2005 Clement Power Royal College of Music http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clement_Power
Luis Machado Royal Academy of Music http://luismachado78.wordpress.com/about/
2003-2004 Rei Munakata Trinity College London Curious Chamber Players
2002-2003 Leo Hussain Royal Academy of Music http://www.intermusica.co.uk/hussain
2001-2002 Daniel Capps Royal Academy of Music http://danielcapps.com/
2000-2001 Toby Purser Royal Academy of Music http://www.tobypurser.co.uk/
1999-2000 Ludovic Morlot Royal Academy of Music http://www.ludovicmorlot.com/
1998-1999 Michael Hall Royal Academy of Music http://www.maestromichaelhall.com/
Jason Lai Guildhall School of Music and Drama http://www.jasonlai.co.uk/
1997-1998 Judith Kubitz Royal Academy of Music http://www.judithkubitz.de/
Mecklenburg-Schwerin Staatskapelle, Germany;
Staatstheater Cottbus, Germany;
Kassel Opera, Germany
1996-1997 Alexander Chaplin Royal College of Music Harlow Chorus and other choral societies
Rumon Gamba Royal Academy of Music http://www.rumongamba.com/
1995-1996 Haig Utidjian Guildhall School of Music and Drama Many Czech professional orchestras;
Barbican Chamber Orchestra
1994-1995 Sarah Ioannides Guildhall School of Music and Drama http://www.sarahioannides.net/
1993-1994 Jacques Cohen Royal College of Music http://www.jacquescohen.co.uk/
1992-1993 Peter Gilbert-Dyson Royal Academy of Music The Belmont Ensemble
1991-1992 Benjamin Pope Royal College of Music http://www.benpope.com/
1990-1991 Stuart Dunlop Royal Academy of Music Director of Music at the University of East Anglia since September 2014
1989-1990 (not awarded)   Mark Wigglesworth continued as assistant conductor
1988-1989 Mark Wigglesworth Royal Academy of Music http://www.markwigglesworth.com/
1987-1988 Paul Murphy Royal Academy of Music Birmingham Royal Ballet since 1992;
Nottingham Philharmonic Orchestra 1990-2001

Website kindly hosted by